Feed America First welcomes Sharon Brawner, John Francis, Jason Martin, and Andy Vaughn to our Board of Directors! Click below to learn more about our new members and hear from our Board President about what these exciting additions mean for the future of Feed America First. 


Murfreesboro, TN – February 24, 2020 – Feed America First announces the appointment of four new members to its board of directors, including Sharon Brawner, John Francis, Jason Martin, and Andy Vaughn. “We are delighted to welcome these new members to our board.  Each of them brings not only a passion for caring about people, but also fresh perspectives to help guide Feed America First into the next chapter of our story. Their enthusiasm, energy, experience and thoughtfulness will be very important to continuing our mission and we look forward to having them as members of the Feed America First family,” said Dave Speer, Board President. Board members at Feed America First serve 3-year terms, and are responsible for donating their “time, talent, and treasure” to the organization – including but not limited to volunteering, providing expertise and oversight, donating, and soliciting new support for the organization.

Sharon Brawner is senior vice president of sales and marketing for the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum. In this role, Sharon guides all earned revenue-producing activities for the organization including admissions, events, food & beverage, retail and product licensing. Sharon also supervises the management of Historic RCA Studio B as well as Hatch Show Print. Additionally, she manages the day-to-day oversight of the museum’s brand, including the museum’s websites, social media channels, all forms of traditional as well as digital marketing and communications efforts. Sharon also has oversight for the museum’s information and technology team. Sharon studied public relations at Western Kentucky University, with additional emphasis in business and speech. She is a 2019 graduate of Leadership Nashville and served as a Leadership Nashville 2020 Business Day Co-Chair. Sharon also sits on the board of The Tennessee Governors Committee on Tourism. Sharon will be serving as the Chair of the External Affairs Board Committee.

John Francis is a Marine Corps veteran who spent most of his private industry work career in the food service industry, culminating as EVP of Operations for Franke Foodservice Systems in Smryna. John recently came back out of retirement and is now the Director of Equipment Purchasing for CKE Restaurants. John will be serving as the Co-Chair of the Internal Affairs Board Committee.

Jason Martin is the Interim Dean of MTSU’s James E. Walker Library. Jason has an EdD in Educational Leadership from the University of Central Florida, a Master’s in Library Science, and a BA in history, both from the University of South Florida. His research interests include leadership, organizational culture, mindfulness, emotional intelligence, productivity, goal setting, and achievement. Jason will be serving as Co-Chair of the External Affairs Board Committee.

Andy Vaughn is a Murfreesboro native. He graduated from MTSU and stays active within the community, and completed the 2019 Leadership Rutherford program. Andy is also on the board for the Rutherford County Geriatric Council and a committee member for the local Alzheimer's Association. Andy is now with Regions Investment Services serving Rutherford County as a financial advisor. Andy will be serving as Co-Chair of the Governance Board Committee.

“Feed America First is blessed to be welcoming such dynamic and driven individuals to oversee our hunger relief efforts,” said Mike Womack, Executive Director. Mike was recently appointed Executive Director of Feed America First in Fall 2019 after Tom Henry, the organization’s founder, retired. “Our new board members are diverse in skills and backgrounds, and together create a strong team to help usher Feed America First into a stronger future,” said Mike.

Feed America First


Feed America First is a hunger relief agency serving the Middle Tennessee region.